# CHILD CARE LICENSING

# OUT OF STATE BACKGROUND CHECK GUIDANCE - MARCH 14, 2023

#### You May Need Background Checks from Other States to Work in Child Care

If you have lived in another state or in multiple states in the last five years and want to work in a child care facility, you must complete background checks from each state you lived in during this timeframe. Out of state background checks include both a criminal records and child protective services check. The process for out of state background checks differs by state.

## Montana is a Compact State and a NFF State

Montana ratified the <u>National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Act of 1998</u> to facilitate electronic information sharing for noncriminal justice purposes, including employment, among state and federal governments. States who have ratified the Compact, like Montana, can join the National Fingerprint File (NFF), which is a database of fingerprints and other unique personal identification information related to an arrested or charged individual is maintained by the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI). An FBI fingerprint check will satisfy an interstate check of another state's criminal history record repository if the state where the child care staff member lived in participates in the NFF program.

#### Whether and How to Request Interstate Criminal Background Checks

If you lived in an NFF state, you do not need to worry about the out of state criminal history check. The Montana Child Care Licensing Program will receive criminal history information for this state with the FBI check. If you lived in a state that does not participate in the NFF program, there are various ways you will obtain your criminal background check for that state. The table below includes an alphabetical list of states, whether they are NFF states, who can initiate the check (Child Care Licensing or you, the applicant), and the process for getting a criminal background check for that state.

## **Child Abuse and Neglect Registries**

Child abuse and neglect findings are often not associated with criminal background checks, which means a separate inquiry is required for to meet this federal requirement for child care employment.

## Montana's Child Care Licensing Program Is Here to Help You

This can be confusing. We will help you navigate the process to complete your interstate background check. Child Care Licensing Program staff will support the individual applicant and the child care provider you are hoping to work.

State	NFF	Initiation	Criminal Check Requirements	Child Abuse and Neglect Check Requirements
Alabama	No	Applicant	Mail fingerprint card and application	
Alaska	No	Applicant	Mail fingerprint card and cover letter to <u>DPS, \$35 money order.</u>	
Arizona	No	Applicant/ Employer	Mail fingerprint card, form, and payment to DPS, <u>instructions</u>	
Arkansas	No	Applicant/ Employer	Providers can start <u>online</u> account for \$150 or individuals Submit form, \$10 processing fee: <u>here</u> for child maltreatment registry. Form (no fingerprint card) and \$25 money order to AR state police for background check: <u>here</u> .	
California	No	Applicant	Submit fingerprints through <u>LiveScan</u>	
Colorado	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
Connecticut	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
Delaware	No	Applicant	DE criminal history check from DE- SBI (\$52) with fingerprint card, letter, certified check. DE Sex offender registry fill out form online . DE Child abuse and neglect registry, apply through portal, \$14	
District of Columbia	No	Applicant	Submit fingerprint through fieldprintdc.com	
Florida	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
Georgia	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
Hawaii	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
Idaho	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
Illinois	No	Applicant	Fill out form and get fingerprinted at Biometric Impressions	

State	NFF	Initiation	Criminal Check Requirements	Child Abuse and Neglect Check Requirements
Indiana	No	Applicant	Have to email outofstatechecks@fssa.in.gove to obtain instructions: link	
lowa	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
Kansas	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
Kentucky	No	Applicant	Apply through Kentucky Online Gateway (KOG), get fingerprinted through IdentoGo, instructions <u>here.</u>	
Louisiana	No	Applicant	For <u>LA childcare background</u> <u>check</u> : form, two unique FBI fingerprint cards and \$26	
Maine	No	Applicant	Apply and get fingerprinted through Identogo.	
Maryland	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
Massachusetts	No	Applicant/ Employer	Apply through Background Record Check Navigator Program Portal, uses IdentoGo for fingerprints	
Michigan	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
Minnesota	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
Mississippi	No	Apply	Apply through Criminal History Fingerprint Facility Portal and pay \$50	
Missouri	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
Montana	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
Nebraska	No	Applicant	Apply: Request out-of-state criminal history online, \$15.50. Child abuse and neglect apply through portal	
Nevada	No	Applicant	Apply with form and <u>fingerprints</u> through fingerprint agency, using LiveScan	

State	NFF	Initiation	Criminal Check Requirements	Child Abuse and Neglect Check Requirements
New Hampshire	No	Applicant	Apply through NH Background Record Check portal, Fingerprints through LiveScan	
New Jersey	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
New Mexico	No	Applicant	Fingerprints and registration through <u>Gemalto</u>	
New York	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
North Carolina	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
North Dakota	No	Applicant	3 forms, personal authorization, request form, and fingerprint identity verification, <u>instructions</u>	
Ohio	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
Oklahoma	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
Oregon	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
Pennsylvania	No	Applicant	3 child care related <u>clearances</u> : fingerprints through IdentoGo	
Rhode Island	No	Applicant	No out-of-state specific instructions, but include affidavit with fingerprint. <u>Instructions</u> and helpful <u>PDF</u>	
South Carolina	No	Applicant	Apply Forms with fingerprinting through IdentoGo	
South Dakota	No	Applicant	Forms and fingerprints, instructions, FAQ	
Tennessee	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
Texas	No	Applicant	Apply through Child Care Regulation online account, also a paper option	
Utah	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
Virginia	No	Applicant	Multiple applications, instructions	

State	NFF	Initiation	Criminal Check Requirements	Child Abuse and Neglect Check Requirements
Vermont	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
Washington	No	Applicant	Apply through online MERIT portal	
West Virginia	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	
Wisconsin	No	Applicant	<u>Apply</u> through child care provider <u>portal</u> using <u>Fieldprint</u> for fingerprints	
Wyoming	Yes	DPHHS	FBI fingerprint check	