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Modes of Transportation

Personal

e A privately owned vehicle.

Commercial

e Air or ground motor carrier, taxicab, or bus.

e Motor carrier operated by the IHS or a federally recognized Indian Tribe that
meets all applicable public service commission standards.

Specialized

e Motor carrier with an applicable public service commission license to
transport physically disabled individuals (e.g. wheelchair or stretcher van).

e Motor carrier operated by the IHS or a federally recognized Indian Tribe that [ 3 ]
meets all applicable public service commission standards. moNTANA
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NEMT Program Requirements

* NEMT is available to obtain medical services covered by Medicaid.
* Reimbursable mileage is calculated utilizing the closest site of service.
* Prior authorization is required.

* Per diem is not available when a round trip can be reasonably made in one day.
* Coverage is limited to the least expensive available mode of transportation.

* Attendant coverage is subject to medical necessity review.

* Mileage is rounded to the nearest whole mile.

* Mileage reimbursement is only available for loaded miles.

* Payment is made after the Medicaid Transportation Center confirms the
appointment was attended.
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Section 209 Requirements

The Consolidation Appropriations Act, 2021 added four new NEMT provider and
driver requirements.

The driver requirements apply to commercial, specialized, and personal
transportation.

Individual drivers providing NEMT services must:

Have a valid driver’s license, and

Not be excluded from participation in any federal healthcare program.
* Providers of NEMT services should have processes in place:
to address any violation of state drug law, and

to disclose to Montana Medicaid the driving history of each employed driver.

* This is a recordkeeping requirement. Unless specifically requested, the information does
not need to be submitted to Montana Medicaid. ( 5 )
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NEMT — Personal Transportation

Reimbursement

e Mileage
* 50.33 per mile

e Per Diem
e Each meal: $5.77
e Hotel: $41.93

Payment Method

e Check

e [ssued after appointment attendance is confirmed.
e Payment is not made if the total is less than $5.00.
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Commercial and Specialized Transportation Provider Enroliment

* Providers enroll through the MPATH Provider Services Portal.
Website:
* Transportation providers will enroll as an atypical provider.
Commercial — Provider Type 23
Specialized — Provider Type 24
* Enrollment training guides can be found on the Montana Medicaid Provider
Enroliment Page.
Website:
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https://provider-mt-mms.optum.com/
https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov/providerenrollment

NEMT — Commercial Transportation

Claim Type

e CMS -1500

Diagnosis Code

¢ |In-town: Z02.90
e Qut-of-town: Z75.3

Procedure Code

e A0140 — Trip under 16 miles

e One unit per trip

e Round trip transports are billed as 2 units.
e A0100 — Trip 16 miles or more

e One unit per mile

Reimbursement
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e A0140 - $13.73 per trip
e A0100 - $1.07 per mile nrﬁr«“miis




NEMT — Specialized Transportation

Claim Type

e CMS -1500

Diagnosis Code

¢ |In-town: Z02.90
e Qut-of-town: Z75.3

Procedure Code

e A0130 — Trip under 16 miles

e One unit per trip

e Round trip transports are billed as 2 units.
e A0100 — Trip 16 miles or more

e One unit per mile

Reimbursement
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e A0130 - $13.73 per trip
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Maintain a Dispatch Log

* Providers must maintain and retain original dispatch records.

* The dispatch log must include:
Member name
Originating address
Destination Address
Date
Time
Authorized units
Charges
Prior authorization number
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Resources

* Prior Authorization Requests or
Questions
Medicaid Transportation Center
* Phone: (800) 292-7114
* Fax: (800) 291-7791

* Provider Enrollment

Montana Provider Relations
* Phone: (800) 624-3958
* Email:

* Transportation Provider Page
Commercial

Specialized

* State Policy Contact

Transportation Program Officer

* Lynea Linz
* Phone: (406) 444-3182



mailto:MTEnrollment@conduent.com
https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov/23
https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov/24

Resources and Contact Information

Medicaid Transportation Center (Prior Authorization Requests or Questions)

e Phone: (800) 292-7114 | Fax: (800) 291-7791

Montana Provider Relations (Provider Enrollment)

® Phone: (800) 624-3958 | Email: MITEnrollment@conduent.com

State Policy

e Katie Hawkins, Allied Health Services Bureau Chief

e Phone: (406) 444-4144 | Email: Khawkins@mt.gov
e Lynea Linz, Transportation Program Officer

e Phone: (406) 444-3182 | Email: Lynea.Linz@mt.gov

Transportation Provider Page

e Commercial https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov/23
e Specialized https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov/24
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